top of page
Search

Becoming A Screenwriter

I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately on what kind of writer I want to be. Do I want to write books, write about currents event and work for a newspaper/magazine, or write stories that I hope to see come to life on the big screen? Since I’ve always had an interested in the film and TV industry, I’ve decided that I want to be a screenwriter. Write movies for film and hope that one day, I get to see it being produced and shown in theatres. I have so many ideas for movies, and I want to be able to share with the world. I don’t know if they would ever get made, but now that I know where I want my writing to go, I can focus on writing the movies that I want to see.


The way that my brain works when it comes to creating a story is that I see the story play out as a movie. I see different scenes in the story as you would when you watch a movie. When I try and write, I can’t seem to put those stories in book form. I can’t picture those stories as a book. I see movies. As much as I would love to be able to write a book and has often as I tried to write a book, I can’t. It’s hard for me. I seem to get bored with the story. My attention span can’t take writing 20+ chapters of a book. I can tell the same story in less time as a movie. I can write what I see in my head without having to worry if I’m explaining a scene well enough. Will people see the same picture as me if I write a book versus if I write the same scene in a movie? Movies are visual and its easier for me to tell my story.


As much as I would love to write a book, writing screenplays comes more naturally for me. I can watch the move in my head and see what happens and how it ends. I always had a dream of writing screenplays and I finally want to be able to do that and focus on making it happen.


I don’t know where to start or where to begin when it comes to getting my screenplay seen by someone in the film industry. There’s so much that needs to be done before it comes out in theatres, but I believe that there is someone out there who is willing to take a chance on someone with hardly any film experience and help them reach their dream of being a screenwriter. Everyone as to start somewhere. If it takes me years to get my screenplays seen by someone then so be it. The more I’ll write, the better I’ll become. You can’t expect your first screenplay to be a hit. I’ll get more confident; my writing will get stronger and one day, my movies will play in a theatre near you.


If I don't write my stores then who will?



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page