top of page
Search

How Do I Get Out of Retail and Customer Service

I’ve been working in retail and customer service since I was old enough to get a job. As much as it seems like it’s an easy job, it’s harder than it looks. With someone who has a hard time connecting with people, customer service isn’t the type of job I want to do for the rest of my life.


I’ve been wanting to get out it that type of industry for years, but with retail being the only thing I know how to do, getting out is even harder. I’ve been told to go back to school, but that’s going to take twice as long since I don’t have an a concreate plan on what I want to do it that doesn’t involve writing and the film/TV industry. I want to get out now and not 5 years from now while working on a degree that I didn’t want in the first place.


I knew even back then in high school that working with customers in that type of environment wasn’t something I wanted to do for the rest of my life, but no other place would give me a chance or give me the experience.


People make it seem easy to get into a good job because they have the “connections” to do it or they are such a people person that they can charm their way into getting a job, but for me who doesn’t have that connection with people, getting to that next level in a job isn’t easy.


I’ve tried to be open with co-workers and people I’ve come into contact with when it comes to telling them what I want to do for the rest of my life in hopes that I’m lucky enough to make that connection with someone, but people just shrug and move on.


I’ve tried my best to be able to do what I want to do in life, but when people aren’t going to help you accomplish that or at least try and make an affect makes it harder to step away from the one environment you want to step away from. I feel like I can’t work on my self care and mental health when I know I have to get up in the morning to work at a job in the environment I’ve been trying to get out of.


I want to be able to be my own boss and create my own hours. I don’t want to go into work exhausted and not focused. I can’t do 8-hour workdays because I get mentally tired after about 5 hours. I want to work when I feel inspired and motivated even if its just a couple hours in the middle of the afternoon.


What can I do to get out of retail and customer service? I’m not happy working in retail. Its starting to effect my mental health.


I want to write, and copy edit, but it’s starting to feel like more of a dream than reality.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page