top of page
Search

How To Start Meal Planning

Because I’m single, I tend to eat out every day. It’s hard for me to plan meals ahead of time because I don’t have someone to cook for or cook with. I don’t have roommates or a significant other, so I tend to eat out. It’s not that I don’t know how to cook, I just don’t have a reason to since it’s just me.


I’ll write a meal plan and write a grocery list, but half the time, I don’t actually go to the store even though I live right next door to one. I dread going to the grocery store, I dread writing that list and thinking about what meals to plan and actually cooking it. It’s just easier for me just to go to the mall and eat at the food court.


Even when the lockdown began, and people were advised to say at home, I rarely cooked. When everything started to open up again, I still went to the mall, grabbed food, and took it home.


I want to start eating better and healthier, but I struggle in trying to find and plan meals. I know what I like and there are things that I find that have ingredients that I know I won’t like or spices that are going to be used once and just sit in my pantry. Once I find a meal I like, I’ll get it every day for weeks sometimes months. The employees at the places I eat at know me and my order because I’m there on a regular basis. If I want to fit into those clothes I have in my closet, I better start eating better.


I know I need to look after myself and get into better shape and I am willing to try and get into the routine of cooking more at home and choosing food that’s good for you and not eat out because it’s convenient.


If I had the money, I would hire a chef to come in on a weekly basis and cook meals and leave them for me in the fridge or if I had a partner, we would cook dinner together. Eating out is part of my routine and when something in my routine is changed, I get anxious. I need to work on cooking at home into my routine. It’s not going to happen overnight, but I’m motivated to start.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page