top of page
Search

Living Life Through Books

I’m known to go to the book store and buy books. I have stacks of books that are on my to read list and I don’t know if there will be enough time in the world for me to read every single book I have, but it’s a challenge I’m willing to accept. I need an intervention.


For as long as I could remember I’ve always been into books. I would spend a lot of time in high school hanging out in the library. One of my classes in grade 12 was a librarian assistant where I would check out the books for the students and put the books back on the shelve. The librarian knew me and thought I would be a good fit. I ended up going back a few years later and volunteered for a year. It brought back memories.


I tend to be on those readers that will get lost in a world that doesn’t exist. I will get so invested in a story or in a character that I wish that it was reality. I wish I could experience what the characters are experiencing. I wish my life was exciting as the lives I read about in books, but I know that what I read is fiction and not what life is supposed to be. Books are there to be able to take you away from real life and comfort you when you need it the most. I guess books work the same way as music. They can take you away and transform you into whole new world.


I’ve read books that are 500 or more pages long within a couple days and I can read book trilogies within a week. Once I get invested into the book, I won’t put it down until I finish it. I’ve read until 3 or 4 in the morning even I know I have to get up the next morning for work. It’s become part of my routine to read before bed. In 2021, I read 16 books with the longest book being 755 pages.


Books have become friends to me. I know I can grab any book from my bookshelf and know that I can trust the characters in leading me into a world that doesn't judge. I can travel the world and dream about one day being able to live a life like the characters do. I can dream about living a life where my prince charming can cherish me and wants to love and support me. Prince Charming who is willing to accept me for me. I want to be swept off my feet and be shown a world where anything is possible. Books have taught me everything I ever needed to know. I trust words more than I can trust some people. Books will never lie or hurt you. They will always be there for you no matter what.


I wish the lives I read about in books are real and I hope that one day I can have something as magical and badass, but all I can do to think about the what ifs and imagine what it would be like if I can just step inside world for just one day and experience it. If I want be part of a world where anything can happen, I’ll just have to write that world and hope for the best.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page