top of page
Search

The Story Of Brandon

When I was in grade 9, I became stage manager of the junior play at my high school and during rehearsals; I got to know the cast and crew. Every year, the same group of actors came back to be in the plays. We would hang out in the theatre, either rehearsing or doing set design. There was one cast member named Brandon, who I began to take a liking to because he had talent. Acting was easy for him and as time went on I didn't know he would have such an impact on me in the years that I knew him. He was the guy that people went to for a laugh. He was friends with everyone.

During the 4 years that I was friends with him, I would never thought he would leave a place in my heart like the way he did. He touched so many hearts and I’m glad that I was one of them. He was always cracking jokes, you never saw him without a smile. I was looking forward to seeing him at lunch because I knew that he was going to say some comment, just to get a smile out of you. No matter how stupid he looked, he did it anyway. It was who he was.

All that changed when I was in grade 12. We were informed in a letter that a student got hit by a car. Looking back on it, I was walking to school the morning of the accident. My school was on a busy intersection, I was at the crosswalk waiting for the signal. I was less than 30 seconds away from school property. I saw an ambulance race through the lights. I knew Brandon lived in the area where they were going, but didn't think the ambulance was for him.


When we were informed about the accident later on in the day, I was hoping that whoever it was, they were going to be alright. It wasn't until that night when I found it was Brandon and I was shocked. I couldn't believe it.


The next day when I was getting ready for school. I had logged into a website called nexopia. It was facebook back in the day. It was there where I learnt the truth; Brandon had passed away the night before, but it didn't hit me until I walked into the school that morning; right away I felt everyone's pain. And I wasn't able to give him one last hug or a smile and a laugh. All I could do was stand there in silence and think about the memories.

I remember the moment I broke the news to my parents, it was that one phone call when it became a reality. Before I said anything, I began to cry, but thru the tears, I told them Brandon died the night before. All I could do was stand there with the people that knew him. His dad came to the school that afternoon as we all stood around the flagpole, remembering him. Everyone placed a flower down by his picture. All I could do was look at the ground and listen to a father talk about his son. I stood there in silence. I couldn't bare to look up. I stared at the ground, remembering and wishing that it wasn't Brandon

Brandon and I walked the same route home from school. Every day, I would see him with his headphones, we would smile and nod, knowing that tomorrow was another day of hanging out at lunch, cracking jokes.


We only knew each other for 4 years, but within those 4 years, you left a place in my heart. I saw potential in you and knew that you would have had the world in the palm of your hand. I know that we didn’t know each other that well, but we bonded over our love for theatre and we created memories in the plays we were part of. Performing on stage with you was an honour and a privilege I will never forget.

I wish we had more time in getting to know each other, but in the years I did know you, you left a mark on me and the people around you. There would have been so many things you could have done in this world. You would have created so many things and with who you were as a person changed it in a way nobody would have thought possible.

Thank you for the memories I hold dear to my heart. I know there’s a piece missing since you’ve been gone. You are forever young. Never take life for granted. Live life to the fullest and cherish everything and anything. I wish I had more time to know you better, but I know your always with me. I miss you and think of you often.

Rest In Peace, my friend.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page