top of page
Search

Things Every Writer Needs To Know

Every writer is different, every writer has a different story to tell. Everyone wants to write for a reason and with purpose, but there are things that writers should know when it comes to wanting to write full time and for the rest of their lives. It’s not an easy thing especially if you want to become successful.


It’s Going To Take Time

Are you writing because you think it’s easy? Do you think you can write something, post it online and hope that it will go viral? If you think you can become popular with just one post then you’re writing for the wrong reason. You need to be serious, and you need to write with passion. Sometimes it can take years for someone to get noticed. They can write every day for a year and still not get the recognition that they deserve. I’ve been writing since I was a kid and I’ve had blogs for over a decade, and I still struggle with finding readers. It can be discouraging and disappointing. It makes you wonder why your writing, but you know that if it’s something you want, you just have to keep doing and hope that someone will come across your work.


It’s Not Easy

You would think that sitting down at your computer and write a few hundred-word post in minutes is easy and sometimes it is, but on the days where you have nothing to say makes writing a lot harder. I’ve written short stories in one sitting, other times it can take me a couple days. If I have a topic in mind, I can write something in minutes, but that comes with years of writing and practice. I have so many things to say that the words just come out all at once. If you are just starting out and are not familiar what you want to write about, it’s going to take some time. It depends on what you want to say and how you want to say it. You just have to keep writing, get better.


Find Your Niche

You have to find what you want to write about. It can be about sports, travel, food, anything. The more you know about something, the better chance of you writing about it. It took me a while to find what I wanted to write about. I went from doing daily blogs to writing random stuff and now I write about my experiences being on the Autism spectrum. You have to find what your good at and teach others what you know.


Success Doesn’t Happen Ever Night

Just like I said before, you can’t write something and hope that it’s a success. You have to be patient and keep going. Some days is going to be hard but know that at some point someone is going to come across what you wrote and be inspired. They’re going to find you when the time is right. Just keep doing what you’re doing. Sometimes you just have to write for you and only you. You’re not going to be able to reach everyone with what you have to say, but you will write for someone.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page