top of page
Search

When I Need To Recharge

Everyone has a way to recharge their batteries. Some people like going out with friends, others like to go home after work, put on their pyjamas and watch their favourite shows. I’m the type of person who likes being alone and not talk to people after having to deal with the public all day. Being around other people and dealing with all sorts of different personalities for more than a couple hours makes me overwhelmed and anxious.

There are so many types of people in the world and I can only handle them for so long before I start to lose patience. Some people I can tolerate and be able to connect and joke around with them, but I’m just not a people person. I’m in introvert and I prefer the safety of my own space. I like being about to go home and relax without having to worry about having to be charming and professional when dealing with the public. I can turn that switch off and be able to just be me and not have to worry about having someone giving me an attitude.

Once I get home and know that I’m not going out again for the rest of the day, I change into something comfortable, turn the TV on and catch up on shows I’ve recorded and watch youtube. It's my time to be able to wind down. My home is my safe place, its where I go to get away from people. Its where I know I can let my Aspergers loose and be free.

As much as I would love to be able to be busy and always be on the go, I know I can’t handle the pressure of being at a million places at once. I always thought I would always have a place to go, like meeting up with friends, go downtown for a meeting or work at a job that meant something to me, but as time goes on, I realize that my time to myself is important. I need to be able to go home and recharge before I hit the road again and socialize. I can’t just go from work to meeting up with people or meeting people then go to work. I need space in between. I need to go home first, take a break, then I can go out and conquer the world. To much stuff on my plate makes me feel overwhelmed. If I start getting nervous or anxious about doing something then I know it's not a good idea.

I need my safe space to be able to interact with people and be able to give them my full attention. I need to be able to be in the right mind set for me to be able to socialize. I can only handle so much before I start to get anxious or nervous and I know I need to find a reason to go home and recharge. Being with people is exhausting.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page