top of page
Search

Will I Ever Write A Book?

I’ve always wanted to write a book. I have so many ideas, but it’s hard to out those stories into words. I’ve told people that I was going to start writing a book, but it never really turned into anything. I would be really into for a couple weeks then I’ll stop and never go back to it.


I know it’s something I want to do; it’s just getting started and sticking with it. I have to find a way to make it happened and I can’t talk myself out of it. I keep telling myself that it’s never going to sell, nobody’s going to like it, publishers aren’t going to publish it. If no one’s going to read it, why write it.


I don't know what genre I would be. I love horror. I grew up reading Stephen King and R.L Stine and I have written short stories in that genre, but is it a topic I can see myself writing for years? Should I write about things that I'm interested in and know a lot about. Be an author who goes into the history of things I'm passionate about and hope that I can reach other people who share those some passions. There's a lot to think about when it comes to what kind of writer I want to be.


I’ve heard of self-publishing and selling books online, but there’s something about going through a publishing company that makes it real. It’s like a step you take to make the whole written a book real.


Speaking of publishing, once the book is written, what are the stages I take to get the book out to publishers, how to a contact them, how many should I contact, do I stay local or try internationally. I have more questions about the stage that comes after writing a book. I’ve never done this before, and I want to make sure it’s a good fit before I dive right in.


There’s a lot of nerves and anxiety and I haven’t written a book yet. I don’t know if anything I write will ever get published and sold in stores. Its more self-doubt. Will I put in a lot of work to write something, and have it become a failure? Will I write something and then have it sit on my bookshelf for years, never to be seen again? So many thoughts are going through my head as I try and come up with a story, a story worth writing and turning it into a book that people want to read.


I will try my best to write what I can. If I finish it, then that would be an amazing, but if it sits halfway done, then I can say that I tried. It’s better to have written something then nothing at all.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page