top of page
Search

My Favourite DISNEYLAND Memory

I went to Disneyland for my 30th birthday in 2017. It fell on a Friday, and I knew that I had to celebrate in Disney.


My mom and I made a girls trip out of it and spend the weekend at Disney. She had signed us up for a walking tour called “Walk in Walt’s Footsteps”


The heart of the Walk in Walt’s Disneyland Footsteps Tour is an approximately three-hour walk around the only Disney theme park that Walt was able to set foot in during his lifetime. Tour guides use the park as a “living storybook” to tell the history of Walt’s life and his creations.


You begin on Main Street and the tour guide would go through the history of the park and how Walt came up with the ideas of Main Street. I became best friends with the tour guide.


We were taken all over the park and was told of different areas and behind the scenes facts about Walt and his family. We went on a couple rides like Pirates and due to the ride be broken, we got fast passes for Dumbo. Great Moments with Mr. Lincoln was also on the tour.


We made our way back to Main Street where we stopped in front of the firehouse. If you are a true Disney fan, you would know that Walt Disney’s private apartment is above the firehouse. It’s closed to the public unless you do the tour.


We were split into two groups; one went to lunch as the other went to the apartment then we switched. I was in the group that went first, and I was EXCITED. I was fan girling. I was secretly hoping that I was in the first group.


A cast member took us backstage; the apartment had a private entrance. You can get into a lot of trouble going back there if you don’t work with/for Disney.


We were told that we couldn’t touch anything or take any personal pictures. We were able to take a couple in front of the window, but that’s it. I was so excited just being there. I don’t think I was able to sit still. I was too busy walking around looking around with the knowledge that Walt Disney once stood were I was walking. He was in that very apartment. There were so many memories just in this small space. It was Walt’s safe space for when he needed to step away and spent time with his family.


Everything was original. Walt had designed to for his wife. From the carpet to the pictures. Everything. The couches were pulled out beds for the family wanted to take a nap. It as a full bathroom and a rooftop terrace. There was a fire pole, but Walt had it sealed up because guests would climb it and access the apartment from the firehouse below.


The light in the window indicates that Walt is still in the park. It’s never turned off. It’s to let the guests know that Walt is always there. I always take a look towards the window as I enter the park. It’s my way of saying Hi to Walt. Knowing that no matter where he is, his memory and creativity will always remain. We will always a piece of Walt at Disneyland.


Nothing will ever top that Disney memory of being inside of Walt’s apartment.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page